Garage Siding Project

20130413-093140.jpg

It was a rough winter. ‘ Was frosty out last week almost every morning. This week, spring warmth finally busted out with record highs in the 80’s. It was like a flip of the switch.

So now I am going full tilt on catching up on my garage project. Here’s a picture of the siding I am installing. It’s cement board siding – not the easiest thing to work with. But I am thinking it will be way more durable than vinyl and easy to paint. I am face-nailing it so it’s more hurricane proof. Last year during Hurricane Sandy, there were a few houses in the neighborhood that had the siding blow off.

I’m pretty excited about this. Cutting it is easier than I imagined. You just score it with a sheatrock knife and pop it apart at the score just like sheetrock. Supposedly you can install it with an air nailer, but I don’t want it too tight (like it to breath) and also I don’t want to risk cracking it. So I just use a small masonry drill bit and pre-drill all the holes and then hammer nail it. Seems crazy, but it goes pretty quickly.

Image | This entry was posted in house, Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

