Hmm… New Pile of Vacation Photos

It’s spring time and I am just back from a 2 week vacation to the Pacific Northwest. Inevitably there is a fresh pile of new photographs in need of posting and sharing. I love to blog and document things (and illustrate and annotate), but I hate fitting into the confines of canned, straitjacketed, software. So concerning this new pile of photos, I have 3 options: 1. Find a blog/photoalbum software that strikes the right balance between flexibility and ease-of-use. 2. Spend a huge amount of time writing my own software and setting up my own webserver. 3. Stuffing my photos into a bulk drive directory and leave them along with many forgotten others.

I’ve been through all of the above options a number of times. The problem with 3 is obvious. The problem with 2 is a lot of time is more time is spent on writing software than on organising photos, and it isn’t long before the OS needs to be updated. This most likely demands another iteration of software re-writing… Whew! I get tired just thinking about it.

So, I am back to square 1 and am trying out this Word Press jack-in-the-box whip-it-ware. Just maybe… All I need to do is get a bigger hammer in order to drive this darned square peg into this round hole! Time will tell. I don’t have really high hope ’cause I’ve just given Picasa the boot because it just doesn’t lend itself at all to written tags nor to linking web pages to the photos. So I will try this Word Press for either stand-alone web albums, or maybe integrating “Gallery” with this blog system. We’ll see how it goes…

PS: Also, Picasa doesn’t allow video clips. No fun!

20120416-103530.jpg

This entry was posted in Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

